Lambda Phi Epsilon’s vision is to become the preeminent international Asian interest fraternal organization, providing outstanding leadership, philanthropy, and advocacy in the community.


The mission of the organization is to promote Lambda Phi Epsilon and its brothers by:

  • Developing active members to become leaders through training and hands-on experience, to advance personal growth, and to achieve academic excellence.

  • Perpetuating leadership of our alumni members in the community, creating opportunities, and encouraging the spirit of fellowship.

  • Promoting positive Asian American awareness and providing the highest level of philanthropy in the community.

A Brief History

Lambda Phi Epsilon Founders

The Founders of Lambda Phi Epsilon

Lambda Phi Epsilon was founded on February 25, 1981 by a group of nineteen dedicated men led by principal founder Mr. Craig Ishigo. Hoping to transcend the traditional boundaries of national origins, the founders aimed to create an organization that would set new standards of excellence within the Asian American community, develop leaders within each of the member’s respective community, and bridge the gaps between those communities. While the initial charter was comprised of Asian Pacific Americans, the brotherhood was open to all who were interested in supporting these goals. Mr. Craig Ishigo and Mr. Darryl L. Mu signed the charter as President and Vice President, respectively.


Mr. Craig Ishigo
Mr. Hunter Chang Mr. Neil Miyazaki
Mr. Randy Fujimoto Mr. Darryl L. Mu
Mr. John Hanvey Mr. Kelvin Sakai
Mr. Jeff Kaku Mr. Kevin Shida
Mr. Bobby Kawai Mr. Albert Sun
Mr. Dean Kumagawa Mr. Weyton Tam
Mr. Jim Lee Mr. Jamie Watanabe
Mr. Bruce Mau Mr. Bennett Wong
Mr. Ted Mihara Mr. Fred Wong

On May 28th, 1990, the fraternity, now with six chapters total, convened on the campus of the University of California, Irvine for the first annual National Convention, which to this day has been held regularly over Memorial Day weekend. A national governing body was established to oversee the development of individual chapters and the fraternity as a whole, with Mr. Robert Mimaki, Mr. Eric Naritomi, and Mr. Doug Nishida appointed as National President, Northern Governor and Southern Governor, respectively. On September 8th, 1990, Lambda Phi Epsilon reached another milestone and became the first and only nationally recognized Asian American interest fraternity in the United States with the admission to the National Interfraternity Conference.

Growth and the Future

Rapid expansion followed throughout the 1990s. Chapters were chartered across the nation through interest groups such as those at the State University of New York, Buffalo and the University of Michigan, Ann-Arbor, leading to the fraternity having a notable presence in all major regions of the country. After becoming a California non-profit organization and incorporating in 1995, the fraternity changed its official name to Lambda Phi Epsilon National Fraternity, Inc. The next decade brought the fraternity international status with the formation of a chapter at the University of Toronto in 2004, making it the first Asian interest fraternity established in Canada.

With the organization’s rapid expansion across North America thus far, the national officer corps has begun to revitalize and refocus the efforts of individual chapters and the fraternity as a whole to better reflect its size and influence in the Asian community through academics, leadership, brotherhood, and service.


Welcome to the national website of Lambda Phi Epsilon, National Fraternity Inc.! My name is Charles Andrean and I am the National President of the fraternity. We’ve designed this space to provide you with all of the latest information and news on the programs, activities, and direction of our fraternity.

Since its inception in 1981 on the campus of the University of California, Los Angeles, Lambda Phi Epsilon has been committed to forwarding the Asian American community, supporting philanthropic causes, providing exceptional education and training, and promoting brotherhood among our members. Lambda Phi Epsilon’s focus lies primarily on its members, with the goal of guiding each individual to become the best version of himself. We strive to create men who will leave a positive and indelible mark on this world.

We encourage you to explore our website and learn more about Lambda Phi Epsilon and what we stand for. Please feel free to direct any questions you have to us through our contact page. We thank you for your support and interest!


Charles Andrean
National President 2012 – 2014

Board of Directors

Chairman Phi Nguyen
Vice-Chairman Earl Lum
Directors Alexander Wong
Edward Ham
Jason Louie
Kuan-ren Su
Paul L. Nguyen
Richard Tran
Robert Chan

Executive Council

Charles Andrean, President


Charles AndreanCalifornia Polytechnic State University

William Tam, Operations Vice President

Vice President of Chapter Operations

William TamRutgers University

Joe Vo, Judicial Vice President

Vice President of Judicial Affairs

Joe VoUniversity of Georgia

Isaac Chung, External Vice President

Vice President of External Affairs

Isaac ChungNorthwestern University

National Treasurer - Michael Liang


Michael LiangPurdue University

David Quach, Secretary


David QuachMcMaster University

Expansion Chair

Christopher ChenUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Regional Governors

Evan Pham, West Coast Governor

West Coast Governor

Evan PhamUniversity of California, Los Angeles

Mid-Atlantic Governor

LJ KimPennsylvania State University

Midwest Governor, Alford Lew

Midwest Governor

Alford LewUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Minh Lai, South West Governor

Southwest Governor

Minh LaiUniversity of Oklahoma

Jason Lau, Northeast Governor

Northeast Governor

Jason LauUniversity of Toronto

Southeast Governor

Ben MillerFlorida State University

Expansion Team

John Lipari, Midwest Expansion Chair

Midwest Expansion Chair

John LipariNorthwestern University

Alvin Phun, Northeast Expansion Chair

Northeast Expansion Chair

Alvin PhunUniversity of Toronto

Josh Nguyen, Southeast Expansion Chair

Southeast Expansion Chair

Josh NguyenUniversity Georgia

Matthew Chan, Southwest Expansion Chair

Southwest Expansion Chair

Matthew ChanUniversity of Texas at Austin

George Pai, West Coast Expansion Chair

West Coast Expansion Chair

George PaiUniversity of California, Los Angeles


Tony Kim, Academics Chair

Academics Chair

Tony KimUniversity of Houston

Ramon Qiu, Events Coordinator

Events Coordinator

Ramon QiuStanford University

Billy Lau, Historian


Billy LauUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Tony Huang, Human Resources Chair

Human Resources Chair

Tony HuangUniversity of Massachusetts

Bernard Cheng, Philanthropy Chair

Philanthropy Chair

Bernard ChengUniversity of Georgia

JC Chan, Public Relations Chair

Public Relations Chair

JC ChanUniversity of Houston

Bryan Dosono, Webmaster


Bryan DosonoUniversity of Washington